Skip Navigation
Academic discovery in the framework of faith

Dr. Vaughn D. Luster, Jr., Administrator of the Year


The Vaughn D. Luster, Jr. Award goes to the head of a National Christian School Association member school considered by his or her peers to best manifest the highest level of professionalism while leading a Christian school. The award is named in honor of Dr. Vaughn D. Luster, Jr. who served as head of two NCSA member schools—Mobile Christian Academy and Dallas Christian School—and on the NCSA Board of Trustees and Board of Commissioners before his death in 1998. The award is presented at the NCSA annual convention.

The winner of the Luster Award must be a current head of a member school of the National Christian School Association and have ten consecutive years of experience as the head of an NCSA member school. All eligible heads who meet these criteria are listed on this ballot as well as those who have won the award previously and are therefore not eligible.

Please rank our three candidates and points from your ballot will be awarded on the basis of five (5) points for first place, three (3) points for second place and one (1) point for third place. You are not obligated to choose three candidates in order for the ballot to be counted, however. Each school has one ballot.

Eligible Administrators:

  • Carter Lambert, Central Arkansas Christian School
  • Brad Lawson, Georgia Christian School
  • Mark Benton, Jackson Christian School
  • Greg Glenn, Lipscomb Academy

Previous Winners:

  • 2018   Ricky Perry, Goodpasture Christian School
  • 2017   Jon Shoulders, Friendship (TN) Christian School
  • 2016   Ron Mitchell, Prattville Christian Academy
  • 2015   Peter Dahlstrom, Lubbock Christian School
  • 2014   Ronnie Sewell, Alabama Christian Academy
  • 2013   Carla Payne, Christian Academy of Greater St. Louis
  • 2012   Dr. Robert Burton, Madison Academy
  • 2011   Mark Niehls, Coventry Christian School
  • 2010   Mary Rydl, Valley Christian Heritage School
  • 2009   Eddie Lee, Midland Christian School
  • 2008   Dr. James Moore, Christian Home and Bible School
  • 2007   Dr. David Fincher, Greater Atlanta Christian School
  • 2006   Dr. Bill Thrasher, Columbia Academy
  • 2005   Jerry Escue, Jackson Christian School
  • 2004   Dr. Bill Ruhl, Goodpasture School
  • 2003   Marquita Moss, Brentwood Christian School
Vaughn Luster Award
  • Please choose one administrator for your first choice, one for your second choice, and one for your third choice. For tabulating purposes, each first choice counts 5 points, each second choice as 3 points, and each third choice as 1 point.

    The deadline for submissions is JANUARY 25, 2019.